AWFJ honors women in film with ‘female focus’ category

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ), made up of professional female film critics, announced winners in three categories at their annual EDA Awards last week. “EDA” honors founder Jennifer Merin’s mother and actress Eda Reiss Merin, while also serving as the acronym Excellent Dynamic Activism. Members across all media chose films in the general “best of” category, with additional winners in “female focus” and “special mention” groups.

The female focus selections recognize films made by and about women in 2017. Greta Gerwig topped this year’s list, winning best woman director and best woman screenwriter for Lady Bird. The Breadwinner protagonist Parvana was awarded best animated female, with young Brooklyn Prince of The Florida Project winning best breakthrough performance. The AWJF also honored the silence breakers who spoke out against sexual harassment last fall, including actresses Ashley Judd and Rose McGowan.

Women in film were also well-represented in the general categories, “presented to women and/or men without gender consideration,” according to the AWFJ website. Co-writer Vanessa Taylor’s The Shape of Water was named best film (her co-writer Guillermo del Toro earned the best director title; adapted and original screenplay honors went to James Ivory and Jordan Peele, respectively). Agnes Varda’s Faces Places is the AWFJ’s choice for best documentary, with Varda also winning the “actress defying age and ageism” special mention award. Dorota Kobiela’s Loving Vincent tied Pixar’s Coco for best animated film.

In addition to recognizing the year’s best films and “amplifying the voices of women critics,” the AWFJ has dedicated itself to a timely mission of supporting women in all aspects of film-making since 2006.

© Georgiana E. Presecky (1/16/18) FF2 Media

Top Photo: AWFJ Logo (Courtesy of

Bottom Photo: Gerwig directing actors Timothee Chalamet and Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird.

Related Posts

Previous Post Next Post